Thrift Shop

Throughout the past year I have discovered how easy it is to find found object art at garage sales or thrift stores. Here is a sculpture that I found this week at a thrift shop, created with bolts and other tools. Artist=unknown.

20140219-204623.jpg

As an Arts Education student, I am always thinking about art lessons that I could teach in the future. When I came across this sculpture I thought about the idea of having students visit a thrift shop to pick out a few ordinary items, followed by using them to create a found object artwork. I believe that transforming discarded items into works of art fuels creativity and forces students to think outside of the box, as well as reminds them that potential art is everywhere.

Leave a Reply

