Trash to Treasure

Items that I have recently repurposed include small and unused frames that I found in a dresser, and old wiring that came from a storage room in my basement. I creatively transformed these objects into a jewellery hanger. It is empowering to see handmade creations around my house.

With regards to teaching, I would introduce the concept of found object art and juxtaposition: “the fact of two things being seen or placed close together with contrasting effect”. I created the jewellery hanger using two dissimilar objects. In a way, the end product is surreal, as both items are juxtaposed and taken out of their original purposes. Subsequent to introducing Surrealism, I would have students choose two random objects or materials, with the objective of changing their meanings through the technique of juxtaposition.

20140324-213300.jpg

Leave a Reply

